Colombo 1- 15; Are You Familiar With These?

Sinhala being the native language of Sri Lanka has given rise to a rather unique set of city names in addition to the general English names that many are familiar with. But with the growing use of English as a main language especially in Colombo, some might not even be aware of the existence of these Colombo 1 – 15 city names in Sinhala. On the other hand, the usage of these names are also quite seldom heard if not for when you travel on the bus and the conductor yells them out loud. 

So if you are not familiar with these Colombo 1-15 names, here is the complete compilation of the English and Sinhala names of the 15 divisions of Colombo. 

Colombo English NameSinhala Name
1Colombo FortKotuwa
2Slave IslandKompanyaweediya
5Narahenpita, Havelock Town , Kirulapona NorthNarahenpita, Havelock Town , Kirulapona North
6Wellawatta, Pamankada, Kirulapona SouthWellawatta, Pamankada, Kirulapona South
7Cinnamon GardenKurunduwatta
10Maradana, PanchikawatteMaradana
13BloemendhalKotahena, Kochchikade
15Mattakkuliya, Modara, Mutwal, MadampitiyaMattakkuliya, Modara, Mutwal, Madampitiya

Recent Posts

Leave a Comment